logosmall    Scottish Beekeepers' Association
   Supporting Scotland's Bees and Beekeepers        




get studying


The Modules are written examinations which are offered in two diets, one in March and the other in November. Examinations for modules 1 – 8 will be held each year. (Note, module 4 is discontinued.) Examination for module 9 will be held every second year and information will appear in the January edition of the Scottish Beekeeper on which examinations are to be held for that year. Module No's 1 to 7 can be taken in any order and must be held by the candidate before attempting to sit Module No 8.

After passing modules 1, 2, 3 and one other from 5, 6 or 7 you are awarded the Intermediate Certificate and once you have passed all the modules you are awarded the Advanced Certificate.

To assist you with your studies, the SBA provides copies of past exam papers which can be downloaded from the Members Pages.

The requirements to sit any module examination is that the candidate must be a member of the SBA and hold either a Basic Beemaster/Beekeeping Certificate or Junior Beekeeper Certificate.

Apply online for your examination, or by post, complete the Exam Application Form and send it with the appropriate Fee to the Education Officer.

Further information and syllabus documents can be found using the links below or move on to next page:-

Module 1 Honey bee Management
Module 2 Honey bee Products and Forage
Module 3 Honey bee Diseases, Pests and Poisoning
Module 5 Honey bee Biology
Module 6 Honey bee Behaviour
Module 7 Selection and Breeding of Honey bees
Module 8 Honey bee Management and History
Guidance Notes for taking the SBA Exams 
Recommended Reading & Information Sources
The Intermediate, Advanced and Expert Beekeeping Prospectus